by pat howard

GREY’S | What will be the finale’s breakout song?

In Grey's Anatomy on May 14, 2009 at 4:58 pm

Expectations are high for tonight’s two-hour season finale of Grey’s Anatomy (9p/8c, ABC):

My big question, plot points aside, is what musical surprises are in store for us tonight. The soundtrack of this show tends toward amazing on an average day, but music-supervising powerhouse Alex Patsavas has been known to save some great material for the final episodes of each season.

In season one, it was “Into the Fire” by Thirteen Senses. No doubt everyone remembers how Snow Patrol’s “Chasing Cars” took off after being featured at the end of season two. Ingrid Michaelson’s “Keep Breathing” took us out of year three, with Mere cutting Cristina out of her wedding dress. And last year, two songs stood out for me: Duffy’s “Mercy” and Bryn Christopher’s “The Quest.”

So what will it be tonight? I wonder if Barcelona’s “Falling Out of Trees,” used in the above promo, is too obvious. But it’s a cool song either way, so I’m sharing this live performance I found.

Share your guesses in the comments, and answer your burning Grey’s song queries with the show’s official guide.

  1. Well. First of all, there was no show-stopping song, as far as I could tell.

    I’ll need another day to mull over my thoughts on the finale. My initial reaction is not particularly positive, especially in light of Shonda Rhimes’ post-finale interview (what happened to going dark?) with Ausiello.

    What did everyone else think?

  2. Yeah, the interview was pretty ridiculous. Nothing was show-stopping, song wise, but I did like the cover of Flashdance classic “What a Feeling,” though I don’t recall which hour that fell in. I guess second?

    Anyway, finale wasn’t the highlight of the season, which isn’t exactly typical of this show, and it was surely flawed, but I can’t help but like that last ten minutes however cheap they may have been. It was definitely sentimentality rather than sentiment, but I’m a sucker for a twist cliffhanger. Prediction: Izzie lives, George dies. Thanks for playing, TR. I’m sure it was a much rougher ride than we’ll ever know.

Leave a Reply

