by pat howard

WEEDS | M-LP speaks out about nude scene

In Weeds on May 21, 2009 at 2:17 am

Weeds star Mary-Louise Parker has never been shy about voicing her concerns about the show. In the June issue of More magazine, she discusses her bathtub nude scene from the season 4 finale:

I didn’t think I needed to be naked, and I fought with the director about it, and now I’m bitter,” she says. “I knew it was going to be on the Internet: ‘Mary Louise shows off her big nipples.’  I wish I hadn’t done that.  I was goaded into it.

Co-executive producer Roberto Benabib responds:

We felt at that point in her life, her defenses had been so thoroughly stripped away, there was a nonchalance to the nudity that informed the scene.

Based on the episode (and the show’s penchant for nudity, especially last season), I didn’t think the scene felt particularly gratuitous or out of place. But I feel like it’s worth second-guessing that if the actress disagrees. I suppose the scene could have been as powerful if her breasts had been covered, even by her crossed arms.

However, the bathroom has always been Nancy’s sanctuary (remember Peter’s abrupt entrance as Nancy shaved her legs in season 2?), and this time she was letting her guard down and letting Andy into her private world, so I can see the metaphor as well.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

