by pat howard

DAYTIME | “Regis and Kelly” continues to be old, reliable

In Daytime, Live with Regis and Kelly on September 30, 2009 at 10:06 am

It’s one of those times of year I’m inclined toward daytime television. As happens every so often, Live with Regis and Kelly has wormed its way back into my rotation.

On the surface, the show is unremarkable. But it’s the TV equivalent of breakfast cereal. It’s not something I make time for every morning, but I like knowing it’s there if I’m in the mood for it.

I was never a huge fan of Kathie Lee, though her train-wreck antics on Today‘s extraneous fourth hour are amusing in small doses. Kelly Ripa totally revitalized the show and the crusty chemistry between her and TV institution Regis Philbin just works.

I’m probably a dork for liking this show, but I suspect I’m not the only twentysomething who’s in on it. You know who you are; pass the cereal.

Leave a Reply

