by pat howard

Confessions of an ‘Idol’ Virgin

In Idol Virgin on January 12, 2010 at 10:30 am

Tonight’s the night. This ninth season of TV’s reality powerhouse will be my first. In eight years, I have seen a cumulative 17 minutes of American Idol. That changes tonight, because this season, I’m all in.

This is obviously not going to be an ordinary season. Sideshow attraction Paula Abdul quit and will be replaced by Ellen DeGeneres. And Simon Cowell announced yesterday that this season will be his last. He’s going to import his British series, The X-Factor, for Fox in fall 2011, and might be bringing Paula with him.

I’m resistant to pop phenomena (see also: HBO), but I’m letting my guard down and am curious to see what all the fuss is about. I have mixed feelings about the music careers the show has produced, but I’m guessing even the die-hard Idol fans disagree about various past contestants.

At the very least, it’s a pop culture conversation I can finally participate in after tonight’s premiere, at 8p/7c on Fox. I’ll be DVR-delaying it a bit, though; I understand there are loads of commercials. See you tonight!

Leave a Reply

