by pat howard

The ‘Gilmore’ problem

In Uncategorized on January 22, 2010 at 8:32 am

Over the last few months, I’ve started my day with coffee and reruns of Gilmore Girls on ABC Family. Catching up on this criminally ignored family drama has been a bittersweet delight, and I’m genuinely sad that I’m about to run out of good episodes.

This week, the sixth season is concluding in repeats…which just means the terrible CWfied seventh season is around the corner. As a lover of television, I’ve had to accept that the financial side of the business will inevitably break the creative side’s heart, and so it was that Gilmore creators Amy Sherman-Palladino and Daniel Palladino bid Stars Hollow farewell after six years.

The seventh season was almost fan fiction bad, and just thinking about how much potential it squandered is painful. On the other hand, I wandered into these repeats months ago around the start of season three. It’ll be disruptive to my routine and my sense of finality to skip these final episodes, but I don’t know whether it’s worth satisfying my appreciation for habit to endure something I will only marginally enjoy.

It doesn’t help knowing that AS-P herself, who plotted the finale down to its final two words and occasionally hints at a movie sequel, couldn’t bear to bring herself to watch the final season of her creation. Help me out here.

Leave a Reply

