by pat howard

On the Grammys

In Uncategorized on February 1, 2010 at 10:18 am

I can’t remember the last time I intentionally watched the Grammys, and at least for a while last night, I was glad that I did.

Lady Gaga’s opening duet with Elton John was fantastic, and continues to solidify my perception that Gaga is the new Madonna. Performances by Green Day (with the cast of their upcoming musical) and Pink also stood out in my mind. Beyonce’s “If I Were a Boy” number was confusing, and not helped by her detour into Alanis Land.

The first hour was solid, and things began to fall apart after that. I approve of the decision not to waste time with a host for the event, instead having an announcer introduce all the presenters. It was also prudent to highlight lifetime achievement and other administrative awards quickly throughout the night (though there seemed to be a massive number of them). By the time we got to the bizarre 3D Michael Jackson tribute and the Internet-vote Bon Jovi performance, I was checked out.

Awards-wise, I was more familiar with the music landscape than I remember being in years. I can’t pretend to understand the ways of any academy of voters, and since music is not “my area,” I’ll stay out of second-guessing any of their picks, but I will applaud the mix of performances and awards that kept things moving along. My biggest bone to pick, though, was during Drake’s performance at the end of the broadcast. I think more of it was censored than not…if the performance is that objectionable, why bother airing it at all? Surely that’s preferable to ruining it, even though it was after 11 on the East coast and well into the safe harbor for whatever dirty words Drake and company were spewing.

Leave a Reply

